Chapter 7: until we meet again

ver, and Becky was waiting for me outside the school gate.

“Hey babe” she said as I walked down the stairs

“Hi” I replied with a smile.

“Err…my mum is coming over to pick us up today” she said giving me a huge grin..

“Oh…that’s good” I said returning the grin.
“But I’m on errands again today” I added.

“Oh…okay” she said.
“I have a feeling your mum doesn’t like me” she said rolling her eyes.

“What?.. Com’on” I said letting out a chuckle.
“She does..a lot…plus after today there won’t be any more errands” I said as I walked close to her to give her a hug.

“Okay whatever” she said hugging me back.

“So I’ll be leaving first” I said as I pulled out of the hug.

“Okay…bye” she said.

“Bye” I replied waving and left for the clinic.

At the hospital.
“Good afternoon ma’am” I greeted the nurse at the counter.

“Afternoon dear, how may I help you?” She asked.

“I’m here to see doctor Henderson for my test results” I answered.

“Okay…..you’re?” She asked.

“Stacy….stacy Vega” I answered.

“Okay then…just wait over there” she said pointing to an empty sit close to the wall.

After waiting for some minutes, another nurse came to call me.
“Miss Vega, doctor Henderson would like to see you now” she said and walked away

“Thanks” I said as I stood up and walked towards his office. I got to his office door and knocked.

“Come in” doctor Henderson said.

“Good day sir” I greeted politely

“Miss Vega, how are you feeling today?” doctor Henderson asked.

“Pretty much better” I replied with a smile.

“That’s great… So, are you here with your mum?” He asked.

“Err…no,why?” I replied with brow raised. He gave out a short breath and talked.

“Well your test results are out” he said.

“Cool…so what’s wrong with me?” I asked eagerly.

“Err..are you sure you wouldn’t want your mum to be here?” He asked.
“I mean I could call her to come” he added.

“No…ain’t I old enough to hear any news about health?” I said with confidence in my voice.
“I mean it can’t be that bad can it” I added.

“Okay then” he replied and gave out another short breath.
“Well I checked your test results, and found some things were wrong with your lymphocytes” he said.

“Okay…so?” I said already feeling a little bit tensed.

“You’ve got leukemia” he said.

“Err…what’s that?” I asked. I wasn’t too sure of what the meaning was but I know I’ve heard it from someone or somewhere.

“It’s cancer of the blood” he answered.

“Oh..okay I’ve got cancer” I said taking a huge gulp of saliva down my throat.
“But..there’s a cure right?” I asked.

“Err….yea there is a cure” he said.

“Great” I said feeling relived

(It’s curable thank God)

“But being that it’s close to the final stage, it’s going to cost a little bit of money”. He added.

“Oh….kay…like how much?” I asked.

“A hundred thousand dollars” he replied.

“What!?.. A hundred what?…” I yelled.
“The fuck where I’m I going to get that kinda hella money” I said.

“Stacy…lower your voice” doctor Henderson said.

“How much do they even pay my mum” I said letting a tear drop from my eyes.

“It’s alright stacy” he said trying to comfort me.

“And if I don’t get the money, what’s going to happen to me” I asked with tears in my voice.

“I’m afraid,you’ll have less than some months to live” he said.

“Right” I said as I felt another tear roll down my face.

“It’s okay eh.. When you get home tell your mom..don’t worry about the money, it’s gonna come okay?” Doctor Henderson said.

“Yea sure” I said forcing a smile.
“Thanks doctor” I replied as I stood up.

“That’s my job…well here’s the result, would you like to have it?” He asked.

“Err..no…I’ll come get it later” I said .

“Okay..but make sure you tell your mum” he said..

“Sure” I replied as I left his office.
I was totally broken inside, I mean how was I going to tell my mum that I was going to die if she doesn’t get a thousand dollars before next month.
I walked out of the hospital and headed home.

(I can’t tell my mum… She’s gonna die, I mean the thought of her losing her only child if she doesn’t get that money. I can’t tell her).

“No!!” I shouted to the sky.
“I can’t die..I just can’t” I said with tears in my voice.

The cloud was getting dark and I could hear the thunder roar. I felt a drop of rain fall on my face, I looked up and saw that the clouds were already heavy and soon it was going to rain heavily.
I wasn’t bothered at all. The thought of dying kept running through my mind, it was trespassing. The rain came pouring down heavily, I didn’t even care, to me it was the perfect time to cry because no one would see the tears falling from your eyes.
I stayed out inside the rain for two hours, and when I was getting in it was already past eight. I didn’t even go to work. I got in front of my house and knocked., so unlike me.

“Stacy!” My mum yelled as she opened the front door.
“Where have you been?….I called your line and it kept directing me to voice mail” she said worried.
“Why were you walking in the rain?….my God You’re going to catch a cold” she added.

I ran towards her and hugged her tight. “Mum I’m sorry… It won’t happen again” I said trying to hold back my tears.
“I love you mum” I said letting a tear role down my face.

“Stacy dear I forgive you, you just…..made me worried eh….and I love you…so much” my mum said as she kissed my fore head.
“Go upstairs and change…you’re soaked already” she added.

I climbed up the stairs and went into my room. I got inside my room and feel to the floor, I started crying.

“I can’t die..please tell me it’s a lie.. Even if this life is so horrible, I just can’t die now, maybe after college or something…please” I pleaded as I cried so hard. I folded like a foetus on the cold floor. I could feel my throat tear and it was painful..

“Hey stacy, would you like to eat something?” My mum asked from behind my room door.

“Err….no mum..I’m not hungry” I replied trying to hide my teary voice.

“Are you okay?” She asked suspiciously.

“Uh..yea mum…just feeling sleepy though” I lied.

“Okay goodnight then, momma love you” she said.

“Yea..I love you too” I replied trying to hold back my cry from bursting out.
I heard her footsteps as she went downstairs.

(What doctor Henderson said was a lie.. I’m perfectly fine.. I’m perfectly okay).

************************************

Hey guys🙋
I’m sorry this chapter is coming late🙇
But not to worry, I’d be updating real soon.
Don’t forget to leave your comments and views😊
And don’t forget to vote.☺
Thanks for reading once again.
I really really appreciate it
Ily❤
Iyiadebola

[Until We Meet Again]

Author: iyiadebola

A teen fiction writer, a student, an artist, a great fan of music especially rnb. jesus child

Leave a Reply

