Chapter 8:

Chapter eight

I woke up, I found my self on the floor my eyes were heavy and I felt so weak, then I realized I’ve been crying all night. I got into the shower, had my bath, brushed and got dressed for school. I went downstairs and went into the kitchen to have breakfast. Well my mum was already awake and she was taking her breakfast.

“You’re awake already” she said.

“Good morning mum” I said as I went to dish my cereals.

“How was your night?” She asked.

“It was okay” I answered.
“Yours?” I added.

“Sweet.. By the way how was the clinic yesterday?” She asked.

“Err..fine” I replied as I finished my cereals and gulped a cup of milk..  I got up to wash my dish

“Okay…and how was the result?” She asked again.

“Err…fine too” I replied a little bit tense as I whipped my hands. I went to the sitting room to get my back pack.

“Okay…and what did it say?” She asked with a brow raised.

“Err…malaria” I replied as I walked towards the front door.

“Malaria?…and you were bleeding from your noise?” She asked confused.

“And stress” I said affirmatively.. I turned to face my mum who was already getting ready for work too
“I’m off to school mum, see you in the evening” I said giving her a huge grin.

“Okay dear.. I love you” she said smiling back.

“Yeah me too” I said opening the front door and walked out if the house. I hoped to see Becky but instead I saw James.

“Good morning” he said smiling.

“Morning” I replied bluntly. No doubt I was surprised seeing him but I wasn’t in the mood to tackle him this morning.

“I waited for you yesterday but you didn’t show up, what happened?” He asked.

“Nothing important” I replied giving him a grin.
“What are you doing here, ain’t you meant to be on your way to school?” I asked.

“Yea…I am….but…I decided to walk with you” he answered giving me a smirk.

“Why?” I asked with a brow raised.

“I don’t know I just felt like it” he answered.

“Okay let’s go then” I replied with smile.

“Hmm….you’re kinda kind today eh..why?” He asked with a brow raised.

“Are you going or not?” I replied with a question.

“Right…right, let’s go” he said.
We walked to school, it was very quiet, so quiet unlike when Becky and I walked to school together. We got to school and luckily Becky showed up..

“Thank God” I mummered.

“Hey guys” Becky yelled from inside her mum’s car.

“Hi”  James shouted as he waved at her.
Becky cane down from the car, waved her mum goodbye and raced down towards us.

“Hey” I said smiling as she hugged me.

“What about me” James said with a sad tone.

“Dummy, come here” Becky said as she hugged him.

“Okay that’s enough eh, classes would soon begin” I said rolling my eyes.
They pulled out from the hug and we left for our classes. During my third and fourth period I just couldn’t concentrate. I kept thinking about what doctor Henderson said.

(I’m going to die soon if mum doesn’t get a hundred thousand dollars for my treatment, mum is already going through difficult times just paying for my school bills alone. This is too much. I can’t tell mum, I can’t break her heart).

“Miss Vega!, miss Vega!” Mrs Lawrence yelled at me, breaking me from my thoughts.

“Yes ma’am” I replied standing up.

“What’s wrong with you?” She asked. I looked around and could see the whole class watch me. I felt embarrassed.

“Err..nothing” I replied.

“Okay then, what did I say last?” she asked.

“Err….what did you say last” I replied giving a smile.

“Miss Vega!” She yelled.
The whole class laughed at what I said, and I felt really ashamed. It was totally unlike me. I knew every last word my teacher says.

“Go to the principal office now!” She said with anger in her voice.

“Yes ma’am” I replied lowering my head.
I got to the principal office and knocked.

“Come in” Mr Parker said with his same annoying baritone voice. I entered and shut the door right behind me.

“Miss Vega…ain’t you meant to be in class now? He asked surprised.

” erm.. Mrs Lawrence sent me here” I replied.

“And what did you do” he asked with a brow raised.

“Nothing really, I wasn’t just concentrating in class” I replied with a low voice.

“Why?” He asked.

“Err… I’ve got stomach upset” I lied.

“Oh…okay, maybe you should go see the clinic nurse” he said.

“Right I will” I replied almost immediately.

“Yeah, that reminds me…you’ve not submitted the form I gave you, and i told you to submit it before last week” he said with disappointment on his face.

“Oh..that,I’m sorry. I’d submit today” I replied.

“Okay, you may go now” he said.

“Thanks sir” I replied as I stood up to leave his office..

I left his office, then headed straight to my locker to grab the form Mr Parker told me to fill. I spotted an empty classroom, went in and sat down to fill the form. There were a lot of stupid question about family, health and why I needed the scholarship. I lied in some column and said the truth in few, but who cares anyways, I filled what I knew.

I didn’t attend the rest of the classes for the day and I also skipped lunch. Becky called ten times and also James but I replied with a text.
Hey guys, I’m sorry I couldn’t
make if for lunch. I had a running
stomach so I needed to visit the
school nurse. I’d see you guys
after school.
Bye.

School was over, and this time I was the one to wait for James and Becky.

“Are you okay now” Becky asked as she came running towards me.

“Ye…ah” I said letting out a chuckle.

“How are you feeling now” James asked with a huge grin on his face.

“Okay..thanks for asking” I replied.

“Great, then we can all go have pizza” James said putting his arms over our neck.

“What” I replied surprised.

“James’s taking us on a treat, all bills on him” Becky said grinning.

“Co..ol” I replied.

★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★

Erm.. I’ve got nothing to say.
But I hope you enjoyed it.
Thanks for  vote and comments
I really appreciate it.
I’d be updating soon.
So..watch out😎
Hehe.
Thanks once again.
Ily
Iyiadebola

[Until We Meet Again]

Author: iyiadebola

A teen fiction writer, a student, an artist, a great fan of music especially rnb. jesus child

Leave a Reply

